The Gladiolus and the Dragonfly

A Lamp, a Light, and a Writer

8819053756446[1]

I should chop that thing down.

The emerald green of the gladiolus stem was gone. In its place was a dried out, bare stalk. The flowers had withered away, their deep pink beauty just a memory.

The bloom was off the gladiolus, and my glove-covered hands itched to snip, snip.

But, I didn’t.

I’d planted the seed months ago, in the expectant air of spring. A tiny promise in a bag.

My hubby said it would be tall, and it was. God’s amazing design, from nearly invisible in the palm to breathtaking beauty towering over the garden.

Hidden safely away beneath dark soil for weeks, months, the seed finally sprouted then shot up to nearly the same height as my nine-year old.

pink gladiola 7 10 13[1]

The gladiolus flower was gorgeous, well worth the wait. Fuchsia tinted with darker, silken edges, it captured the eye and touched the soul with the lushness of God’s paintbrush.

But in the grip of Florida’s summer heat, the flower…

View original post 465 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by WordsasWorship. Bookmark the permalink.

About WordsasWorship

Faith, family and friends enrich the life I share with my husband RJ in historic Plant City, Florida. Good news abounds here and I write about it in Focus, our community news magazine. As a member of Brandon Christian Writers, WordWeavers Tampa, and BelieversTrust.org, I'm encouraged to continue practicing my lifelong passion for the power of words. Writing inspirational real life stories is a favorite pastime, and especially those that point others to God.

One thought on “The Gladiolus and the Dragonfly

Leave a Reply

